Alumni Award

Laura Pasquero(photo) is the recipient of the EMAlumni Award 2020! She was nominated and selected for her unwavering commitment to advocate for the human rights of survivors of gender-based violence through her extensive work in the area of GBV protection. She is currently working as a consultant within the area.

This year, for the second time, the EMAlumni Association recognises the value and contribution that EMA alumni bring to society, as a legacy of the EMA spirit and commitment towards the advancement of human rights and democratisation.

The award is aimed at recognising the work of an Alum who, through their work and/or volunteering activities has made (and is making) a significant contribution to the advancement of human rights and democratisation in the world.

See below the GCA video to celebrate 70 years on the UDHR featuring Laura:

Please note that some of the 2020 nominations, unfortunately, could not be taken into consideration because of a conflict of interest and were deemed invalid. We apologise for any misunderstanding and we have tried to make the criteria more clear for the next editions.


Eligibility criteria:

  • Be a graduate from the European Master’s Programme in Human Rights and Democratisation. Those currently enrolled as EMA students (i.e. graduating in 2020) are not eligible;
  • Have significantly contributed to the development and advancement of human rights and democratisation through their professional occupation, or through collateral, volunteer and/or recreational projects and activities.
  • The impact on human rights and democratisation of the Alumni’s activity shall be tangible and easily identifiable;
  • Be able to document the aforementioned activity and their contribution to it.
  • Not be a current member of the Board, the Secretary-General, or member of the panel (see below)

Please note that nominations of any of the above-mentioned people should be deemed invalid.

Nomination procedure:
  • All EMA Alumni can nominate a maximum of 1 Alum they think deserves the EMAlumni Award. Those currently enrolled as EMA students (i.e. graduating the current year) cannot send nominations;
  • Alumni cannot nominate themselves, current Board members, the Secretary-General or a member of the panel (below)

Selection Procedure:

  • The prize is awarded by the EMAlumni Association. This year’s panel consists of: Manfred Nowak, the Secretary-General of Global Campus of Human Rights, Milen Kidane, EMA alum and recipient of the award in 2019, Prof. Thérèse Murphy, EMA Chairperson, Theodora Ralli, Board member of the EMAlumni Association, Amila Madžak,Board member of Global Campus Alumni and Lydia Malmedie, Former President of the EMAlumni Association and EMA alum
  • The members of the panel should neither nominate nor be nominated by others, to avoid any conflict of interest
  • Award of the Prize: the recipient of the EMAlumni Award will be invited to Venice during the Graduation Ceremony in October to receive the award.

The Award is an artwork entitled Collective Memory by Belgian artist Koen Vanmechelen. The artist and the Fondazione Berengo have generously donated the piece.

Previous Editions:

2019 – Milen Kidane

For any comment, suggestion or for further information you can send an email to